sharing information


Overview of Australia

Overview of Australia
General    Geography    People    Government    Economy    Communications    Transportation    Military

Australian Government

See also on our website  - Australian Governor-General     Australian Prime Ministers     Australian Constitution

Government type federal parliamentary democracy
Independence 1 January 1901 (federation of UK colonies)
Constitution 9 July 1900, effective 1 January 1901
Administrative divisions 6 states and 2 territories
   New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria,
   Western Australia, Australian Capital Territory, Northern Territory
Dependent areas Ashmore and Cartier Islands, Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Coral Sea Islands, Heard Island and McDonald Islands, Norfolk Island, Macquarie Island
Legal system based on English common law; accepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction, with reservations
Suffrage 18 years of age; universal and compulsory
Executive branch chief of state
   Queen of Australia Elizabeth II (since 6 Feb 1952); represented in Australia
   by Governor General.
head of government:
Prime Minister Kevin Michael RUDD (since 27 June 2013); Deputy Prime
   Minister Anthony ALBANESE (since 27 June 2013)

   prime minister nominates, from among members of Parliament, candidates
   who are subsequently sworn in by the governor general to serve as
   government ministers
   none; the monarch is hereditary; governor general appointed by the monarch
   on the recommendation of the prime minister; following legislative elections,
   the leader of the majority party or leader of a majority coalition is sworn in as
   prime minister by the governor general

Legislative branch bicameral Federal Parliament consists of -
  76 seats - 12 from each of the 6 states and 2 from each of the two mainland
  territories; one-half of state members are elected every 3 years by popular vote
  to serve 6 year terms while all territory members are elected every 3 years
House of Representatives
  150 seats; members elected by popular preferential voting to serve terms of
  up to 3 years; no state can have fewer than 5 representatives
Judicial branch High Court
(chief justice & 6 other justices are appointed by the governor general)
Political parties Australian Democrats, Australian Greens, Australian Labor Party, Country Liberal Party, Family First Party, Liberal Party, The Nationals

Updated August 2011. You may notice that we show information from a variety of dates. We are unable to find the same type of information for more recent dates than what we show here. The information provided above is for entertainment purposes only. For more information, please visit any of the Australian government websites and the CIA World Fact Book

We're SafeSurf Rated

Australian Facts & Information Time & Dates, School, Sports, Converters, Facts & more
Australian Website Links Entertainment, Sports, Education, Medical, Government & more

Know Australia     Voice of Australians     Uniquely Australian     Tall Poppy     Australian Cards     Flashback     Games     Home

Contact Us    Website designed & managed by Lady Luck Enterprises