making our life special

2009 ARIA Award Winners

23rd ARIA Awards Ceremony

19 October 2009
Acer Arena, Sydney Olympic Park, NSW
Hosted by Kate Ritchie and Gyton Grantley.

The 2009 ARIA Awards featured live performances by The Temper Trap, Sarah Blasko, Kate Miller-Heidke, Lisa Mitchell, Empire of The Sun, Ladyhawke, Hilltop Hoods, Jessica Mauboy, Keith Urban and the one and only Robbie Williams. Special guest presenters were Missy Higgins, Orianthi, Ruby Rose, Powderfinger, Guy Sebastian, Natalie Bassingthwaighte and Vanessa Amorosi. Today's ARIA Awards is seen by around 2 million people on television, and approximately 2,500 recording industry guests and 5,000 members of the general public.

ARIA Awards

Hall Of Fame
John Paul Young, Mental As Anything, Little Pattie, The Dingoes, Kev Carmody

Album Of The Year
Empire of the Sun
Walking on a Dream

Highest Selling Album
Black Ice

Single Of The Year
Empire of the Sun
Walking on a Dream

 Highest Selling Single
Jessica Mauboy
Running Back

Best DVD
TV is my Parent

Best Rock Album
Black Ice

Best Blues & Roots Album
C.W. Stoneking
Jungle Blues

Best Group
Empire of the Sun
Walking on a Dream

Best Female Artist
Sarah Blasko
As Day Follows Night

Best Male Artist
Daniel Merriweather
Love & War

Breakthrough Artist - Album

Breakthrough Artist - Single
My Delirium

Best Adult Contemporary Album
Josh Pyke
Chimney's Afire

Best Independent Release
Bertie Blackman
Secrets and Lies

Best Country Album
Troy Cassar-Daley
I Love This Place

Best Children's Album
The Wiggles
The Wiggles Go Bananas!

Best Dance Release
The Presets
Talk Like That

Best Urban Release
Hilltop Hoods
State of the Art

Best Pop Release
Empire of the Sun
Walking on a Dream

Best Comedy Release
Hamish and Andy
Unessential Listening

Fine Arts Awards

Best Classical Album
Australian Brandenburg Orchestra/Paul Dyer
Handel: Concerti Grossi Opus 6

Best Jazz Album
Katie Noonan - Blackbird

Best Original Soundtrack, Cast, Show Album
Soundtrack - Balibo

Best World Music Album
Seaman Dan - Sailing Home

Artisan Awards

Best Video
Josh Logue for Mathematics -
Empire Of The Sun, Walking On A Dream

Best Cover Art
Aaron Hayward & David Homer - Debaser - Empire Of The Sun, Walking On A Dream

Producer Of The Year
Empire Of The Sun and Donnie Sloan with Peter Mayes - Empire Of The Sun, Walking on A Dream

Engineer Of The Year
* 2 winners this year *
DJ Debris - Hilltop Hoods, State Of The Art
Greg Wales - You Am I, Dilettantes



We're SafeSurf Rated

Australian Slang Over 100 Australian Songs Australian Food & Recipes Aussie Style
Australian Events (Aria, Logie & Country Music Awards, Melbourne Cup, Bathurst 1000 & more)

Know Australia     Voice of Australians     Uniquely Australian     Tall Poppy     Australian Cards     Flashback     Games     Home

Contact Us    Website designed & managed by Lady Luck Enterprises